Dawkins gears up for victory

His father and veteran driver Robin, who will also be competing, has won just about every other major event in Tasmanian speedway sprintcar racing over the past 30 years, but has failed to snare a State title due to a combination of bad luck, crashes, or mechanical dramas.
Nanjing Night Net

Dawkins junior has been in a position to win the title twice and has befallen similar dramas, perpetuating the curse theory.

But Jason refuses to acknowledge the existence of the `Dawkins Curse’ and has his eyes firmly fixed on the prize this weekend.

His results this season include three wins and a second in only five rounds of the $60,000 Farmers Union Iced Coffee Sprintcar Series, including a win last weekend at Latrobe and a second in Hobart last time he raced there.

Having missed the first two rounds of the series, Dawkins has acknowledged that he can win it, and is focused on the State title.

Ironically, a win this year would be the toughest ask for many seasons, with the quality and depth of Tasmanian sprintcar racing at an all-time high.

In addition to the two Dawkins’ drivers, other serious contenders include Farmers Union series leader and former State champion `Tornado’ Tim Hutchins, who also won the last round in Hobart.

Former series leader Kurt Luttrell, of Launceston, has also been in top form for most of the season and finished second behind Dawkins at Latrobe last week.

Defending champion Adrian Redpath, of Latrobe, hasn’t raced much in Tasmania this season, but can be expected to put up a fierce title defence and is certainly capable of back-to-back crowns, especially in Hobart, where he won his first title a few years ago.

In a talented field, other serious chances include relative newcomers in Launceston drivers Tim Austin, who was third at Latrobe last weekend, and Steve Bricknell, who was also third the week previously at Carrick, and exciting rookie Malcolm Lee, of Westbury.

Devonport trio Anthony Sargent and former State champions Phil Coates and veteran Tony Smith are also never far from the front, while Ulverstone’s Anthony Johns is capable of producing the occasional brilliant drive and could be a dark horse in the most open State championship for many years.

Tomorrow night’s Hobart programme will also include the Tasmanian Mini-sprint Championship and the Ross Fyfe Memorial Race for street stock sedans, plus support racing from Tas. sedans, sidecars, speedway solo motorcycles and junior sedans.

Gates open at 2.30pm and racing on the 30-event programme will start at 4.30pm.

The mini-sprint State championship is also up for grabs with defending six-times champion Mick Cruse, of Launceston, struggling to dominate this season.

Cruse is certainly capable of another title, but to be successful will have to work harder than he ever has before with a good list of contenders to hit the track.

Former Australian champion Bobby Redpath, of Sassafras, and Burnie veteran Kerry Short have set the pace in recent weeks and could be the drivers to beat.

Wynyard’s Darren Lockett leads the season’s consistency series and will be near the front at the finish, while Tim Mason, of Penguin, is also capable of a podium finish.

The Ross Fyfe Memorial Race will be keenly contested with reigning State street stock sedan champion Troy Russell, of Ulverstone, returning to the track that gave him the State title last month.

Russell will be hard to beat, but can expect plenty attention from the likes of Devonport’s Matthew Gavigan, Robbie Fisher, of Hobart, and Ulverstone brothers Brett and Shayne Waddington and Greg Lynd to name a few.

This story Administrator ready to work first appeared on Nanjing Night Net.